Gen AI Committee

The Generative AI Steering Committee will investigate impacts of generative AI and other AI tools on the areas of pedagogy, and academic and administrative operations within the higher education institution context to provide recommendations for how UBC should address potential opportunities and challenges. 

As this technology rapidly progresses, the committee recognizes that generative AI has created a need to consider the implications for UBC from a student, staff and faculty lens. The committee will be evaluating the opportunities that come with generative AI while considering its risks and limitations. The Steering Committee is expected to meet over the next 12-18 months and will involve stakeholders through the process of exploring this topic. 


The Generative AI Steering Committee membership is comprised of a broad range of functional and academic leaders from across UBC. Experts in the field of generative AI or the technology industry will be brought in as required. 


Jennifer Burns
Associate Vice-President, Information Technology and CIO

Bhushan Gopaluni
Vice-Provost and Associate Vice-President, Faculty Planning

Simon Bates
Vice-Provost and Associate Vice-President, Teaching and Learning

Heather Berringer
Associate Provost, Academic Operations and Services

Committee Administrator: Amy Kao, Manager, Administrative Support 


David SilverAssociate Professor, Organizational Behaviour/HR Division, Chair in Business & Professional Ethics (Sauder) 
Ramon Lawrence Professor, IKBFoS – Department of Computer Science, Mathematics, Physics and Statistics
Susan Parker University Librarian
Elana MignosaAssociate Vice-President, Finance & Operational Excellence
Cam Gray Executive Director, HR Operations
Arig al Shaibah Associate Vice-President, Equity & Inclusion
Rick HartAssociate Vice-President, Communications
Rella Ng Associate Vice-President, Enrolment Services and Registrar
Vered ShwartzAssociate Professor, Computer Science 
Jeff Clune Associate Professor, Computer Science
Erika BrimacombeLegal Counsel, Information and Privacy
Alex Bayne Managing Director, Human Resources – UBC Okanagan
Samantha Reid Executive Director of the Office of the Vice President, Students
Dale MullingsAssociate Vice-President, Students Office – UBC Okanagan
Marten YoussefAssociate Vice President, University Relations
Jenny PhelpsAssistant Vice Provost, Graduate and Postdoctoral Strategic Academic Initiatives
Elisa BaniassadProfessor of Teaching, Computer Science and Acting Academic Director for Centre for Teaching, Learning and Technology
Gerald VanderwoudeAssistant Dean, Faculty Operations, Faculty of Arts
Allen AmyotteDirector, Internal Assurance, ERA
Anita ChaudhuriAssistant Professor of Teaching and Faculty Advisor on Academic Integrity – UBC Okanagan
UBC IT Senior Leadership Team
Stephen Lamb Deputy Chief Information Officer 
Grainne McElroy Deputy Chief Information Officer, Faculty of Medicine
Salman Shahid Director of Architecture – Architecture Centre, Strategy and Planning
Aarti Paul Director, Engagement Services
Laleh Mosadegh Director, Interim, Program Delivery
Kevin Labadie Director, Digital Enablement
Marcela Hernandez Chief Data Officer
Aisha Sinclair Director, Communications

For further information on privacy and information security at UBC visit